It’s a New Art Form Showing People How Little We Care

care

In Lorde’s “Tennis Court,” she sings, “it’s a new art form showing people how little we care.” It got me thinking about the absence of empathy within our generation, yet deep down, I feel as if we all do care – and it’s a lot more than we let on.

We see it every day: someone was careless with something important or maybe your barista at Starbucks hates his/her job and got your order wrong. We can’t deny the fact that there are indeed people out there who just don’t care. Then there are the other half that care deeply but try to hide it. When I was bullied in the 9th grade, I tried to play it off like I didn’t care, but I did. Every moment of torture was a moment I couldn’t get back; a moment I could have defended myself yet I just sat there and took the heat, pretending like their words went right over my head. Instead, they seeped into my brain and haunted me for years after. The fact of the matter is, we can pretend we don’t care, but at the end of the day, we need to admit to ourselves that we do and we are not going to take it anymore.

Contrary to societal belief, caring isn’t such a bad thing. If everyone took one moment out of their day to care about something or someone else, this world might be a better place. Not caring, like Lorde states, has become an art form, mostly practiced within Generation Y and millennials. Deep down, I think we all care, but some just don’t want to admit it. It shows our vulnerability, and if society has taught us anything growing up, its that wearing your emotions is never cool. When are we going to fight against that rule?

For some, it hurts to show our vulnerable side, but we can use those emotions to fuel ourselves to do better. I want to care. I want to show this world that I am not like rest and I’m not afraid to take a stand. Before you start to walk away from something that could have a lasting effect, think about what you may be causing. Friends, family, the environment, mankind: all of it has repercussions. The best part? It starts and ends with you.

So, do you care now?

 

6 thoughts on “It’s a New Art Form Showing People How Little We Care

  1. The lack of empathy is shown through the majority of the people I work with. It saddens me when a cop tells me that my generation is F-ed up

  2. can you ever become happy enough with yourself to overflow some to those who you want to share a life with? Or will you always rely on feeding off the happiness of others?

Leave a Reply

