Who Will Save Our Souls..If We Won’t Save Our Own?

ImageSomething I’ve been pondering:

You know when you’re a kid and you listen to music, buy the songs you like yet you still don’t really understand what those people are singing about? Yeah, I used to be one of those kids. Who wasn’t? Although I did understand most stuff at a young age, (I was a strange child) now that I listen to certain songs now, I think to myself “Ahhhh I totally get it now!”

Jewel’s debut album, Pieces Of You, came out in 1994. The first song on the record, “Who Will Save Your Soul?” was always a favorite of mine. I just recently started listening to that album again in what seems like forever and I think Jewel was on to something back then that rings true to this day. I wonder if she had some sort of premonition! 😉

“People living their lives for you on TV, they say they’re better than you and you agree”

With reality TV taking over the world, it’s hard to imagine a time when we didn’t have people’s lives thrown at us on every channel. (Hey remember when MTV played music videos?) I was only 6 years old in 1994. The only “reality” television I can remember from back then was Oprah and other various talk shows. Now we have the Kardashians, Real Housewives, Mob Wives, singing and modeling competitions, Jersey Shore, Teen Mom, The Virgin Diaries (seriously..?) Basically, we have it all. I bet if you wanted to show people your special “talent” of how you spend your day burping out sentences in the workplace, they’d air that too. What amazes me is that we have all of these different types of people living their lives for us on TV yet we’re all still so pigheaded and judgmental about different ways of life. We should be more open-minded and understanding now more than ever. This stuff shouldn’t be “foreign” or “strange.” Now that we’ve seen it all, why can’t we just accept it and move on? When it comes down to it, it really doesn’t affect our personal lives. Maybe because I’ve been living in New York for so long that “weird” stuff doesn’t really faze me in the least anymore. Don’t get me wrong, in my opinion, most of these reality shows are bogus and they send out the wrong message. Some give off the vibe that they are showing us how to live, that they’re better than us….and we as human beings think we’re not good enough so we agree and go along with it like mindless drones. When it comes down to it, if we really were secure with ourselves in the first place, we wouldn’t need to share every aspect of our lives on television. If you’re looking for approval from the world, you won’t find it.

That Jewel is a wise one. 😉

I could go on analyzing the rest of the song and explaining how it identifies with the world today but I’ll stop here. You can do the rest…and please, just enjoy the song and don’t take everything I say so seriously.  🙂

One thought on “Who Will Save Our Souls..If We Won’t Save Our Own?

Leave a Reply

