We Accept The Love We Think We Deserve

Image

I finally got to see The Perks Of Being A Wallflower last night and I absolutely fell in love with it! Killer soundtrack too, might I add.

Anyway, there’s a quote from The Perks Of Being A Wallflower that’s been re-blogged millions of times on Tumblr, tweeted on Twitter and used as status updates on Facebook. Why? Because it’s something we all can relate to no matter how different we all are from one another.

“We accept the love we think we deserve.”

I might not have understood that seven years ago, but then again what the hell did I know at 18? If we’re being honest with ourselves, how many of us have lowered our standards because we were lonely? We don’t think we deserve the best nor do we think the best will ever want us, so we settle. We settle for less than what we dreamed of and we wind up getting hurt in the end.

Image

Sometimes we don’t realize we’re settling until it’s too late. Other times, if we’re lucky, we realize our self-worth but oddly enough that epiphany comes after we’ve taken the fall. In high school, I wasted my time liking this guy who ate away at my confidence; and as much as I hated to admit it, my last relationship wasn’t what I thought I wanted. I don’t regret it though as it was a learning experience and it taught me what I want out of life, and most of all, don’t want but I still sometimes hate myself for letting it drag out to certain extremes when I knew in my gut I should of gotten out earlier. It wasn’t healthy and thankfully a certain higher power knew that and rescued me at the most pivotal time. Now I’d never subject myself to settling ever again no matter how lonely it gets. I’ve got my eyes set on the prize!

I’ve seen so many great people start relationships with the wrong people and it just makes you wonder why. Why them? Don’t they see they’re potentially ruining themselves? Or the girl who sleeps around because she doesn’t think she’s worthy of love. Little do these people know, they are worthy. They are enough. Only accept the best, nothing less.

The next time you’re feeling like you deserve more, think of that quote. Say it again over in your head and think about ways to change your situation. Unfortunately someone has to get hurt, but the pain will subside with time.

You owe it to yourself to only accept the best. You deserve it.

6 thoughts on “We Accept The Love We Think We Deserve

  1. Very well-written. It reminds me of domestic violent victims who tend to go back to the cycle again and again. It saddens me to see that they think they don’t deserve someone better. But I do agree with that quote. From a different perspective, it does help people to explore their own self-worth. I’m sorry to hear that you’ve gone through a challenging time in your relationship. But I’m glad that this quote would serve as a good reminder to yourself.

    Like

Comments are closed.