Are You Better Off Now Than You Were A Year Ago?

070211_timing-is-everything

A lot can happen in a year. A lot can even happen in a month. Sometimes we don’t realize how much better we are doing because we keep concentrating on the bad things. There’s always something we don’t want, yet there’s always something we do want. Bad things are inevitable; like the way your legs look or where you think you should be at this point in your life/career. You may have a goal you want to reach and while working toward that goal, you may find something else you never dreamed you would want even more. Nothing ever turns out the way you thought it would, but is that such a bad thing? Look around. Really look. Is it better than you thought? For me, absolutely.

A year ago today, I was going through a rough time. I won’t get into the details. That could take forever and you’d probably be sitting there scratching your head and wondering about my mental stability. Not really, but hey, we’re all mad here. Anyway, this rough patch lasted a few weeks maybe even a month. One day I saw a sticker on this garbage can (how ironic) that said “This won’t matter a year from now.” Guess what? It was right.

That sticker stuck in my head (tehehe) forever. I’ll never forget how much hope it gave me after feeling so numb for a long time. We need to open our eyes to all of the signs life throws our way in our times of need. They just might be leading us down the right path to our destiny.

I woke up this morning with a smile on my face. Last year I was up all night panicking. What a difference. It’s funny how everything changes yet it still manages to stay the same. Every day you get closer to that moment you are waiting for.

So…are you better off now than you were a year ago? Do you think you’ll be better off a year from now than you are today? If not, remember that timing is everything. Give yourself time and you’ll be a stronger person by this time next year. 😉

One thought on “Are You Better Off Now Than You Were A Year Ago?

  1. I’m glad that things are better now for you. It must be difficult to wake up each day feeling awful.
    I can relate to that. You’re still the same person but at the same time your perspectives on things might have changed gradually.
    I find it hard to believe how last year I was doing my internship and feeling depressed about it. A year later, I signed up for a second internship but I’m actually enjoying it [:

    Like

Leave a Reply

