Thanks, Doc!

Image

I’ve been meaning to post this for a few weeks now but got sidetracked. A few weeks ago I was at my doctor’s. She looked at me when she came in the room and asked me if I was okay. I guessed just for small talk but apparently I looked stressed. “Wow. So now it’s starting to show?” I said. She asked me why I was stressing out and I told her why. The reason why most people in their early twenties are stressed in this day and age: lack of employment. I’ve been trying for a while to find a job suited for me but no luck yet and it’s been taking a toll on my well-being. As much as I absolutely adore writing for Buzznet, it doesn’t pay the bills as I am not an employee. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t have a problem with that. I know I have to pay my dues and work at it until I can get anywhere. I like where I am right now. But sometimes the pressures of being jobless leave me stifled with self-deprecation. I often find myself saying “Tina, WTF are you doing?” but that’s just 30% of me when I’m PMSing or just in a really bad mood.

After I told my doctor this, she looked at me and said, “Oh sweetie. You are in the prime of your life right now. Ignore what people your age are doing or expected to do. Enjoy your life. You’ve got the rest of your life to work and once that starts you won’t stop until you’re old! Keep writing. Who cares if you don’t get paid for it?! Do it because you love it. It will lead you to places you never thought were possible.”

Image

I left her office that day feeling like a 500 pound burden was lifted off of my shoulders and shoved down to the pits of hell where it belongs. Who knew that you can get weighed, have blood taken and all of your cares melted away in one measly 40 minute visit? 🙂

Thanks, Doc!

3 thoughts on “Thanks, Doc!

  1. Your doctor gave a great advice. But I cannot deny that it’s difficult to just ignore what my peers are currently doing and what I think I’m supposed to be doing right now :b
    All the best in your job hunting! I’m keeping my fingers crossed for you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

