New York, I Love/Hate You

Midday on 5th Avenue - New York City Streets

I’ve always had a love/hate relationship with New York City. I was born in Winter Park, FL and moved to New York when I was 6 years old. Starting elementary school here wasn’t so bad. It was when I got to middle school when I started to hate this city, and sometimes, fear for my life.

Let me put it nicely: I went to public school. End of story there. But that wasn’t what put me on edge about this city. I’ve always hated the fact that some people just don’t care about anything here; like they’re only working just to get a paycheck. Not caring what they’re putting into the job. Doing half-assed jobs. Everyone lives like Honey Badger in this city. Honey Badger don’t care. Honey Badger don’t give a shit! I guess I kept comparing things to how they were in Florida. I guess I was spoiled. People care about customer service a lot more down there. I can’t even count the number of times I’ve been to a restaurant or out shopping to hear “Oh, we don’t have that. We ran out” or some other unprofessional (and ridiculous/lazy) excuse. It’s like you’re burdening some of these workers for making them do their job when you ask for assistance with something. Don’t get me wrong, not everyone in this city is a lazy SOB, but sadly I come into contact with not-so-nice ones on a regular basis. Whenever I do meet someone with a nice personality I immediately want to hug them.

Then comes the ever-dreaded “ME FIRST” mentality that seems to be spreading like wildfire. Today I was about to get off the subway and this lady, who was behind me, decides to elbow her way in front of me so she could get off first. No “excuse me” or anything. People seem to be in a hurry to get nowhere. Sometimes I just want to yell “slow the f**ck down!”

For so long I yearned to get out of this city. I don’t know what changed over the last 3 years but somehow I feel like this is where I need to be; at least for right now. Maybe I’ve realized that people are shitty everywhere you go. There’s nothing we can do about it but just let them go on being an a-hole while we kill em’ with kindness. What else can you do? It’s fun to watch them squirm! šŸ˜€

2 thoughts on “New York, I Love/Hate You

  1. I’m sorry that the people you’re surrounded with are so terrible. Mine isn’t any better than yours as well. Sometimes I think I live in an uncivilised era. People are getting more educated but their values seem to be deteriorating. Oh well, that being said, I’m sure you’re one of those nice people living in NYC [:

    Like

Leave a Reply

