Sorry/Not Sorry: My View on HBO’s ‘Girls’

Image

*Before I begin, I’d like to suggest looking up the definition of the word “opinion.” After reading this, your life will go on and the sun will be shining tomorrow. Moving on…

After reading numerous quotes around the internet from HBO’s hit series, Girls, I thought the show seemed pretty interesting so I decided to give it a chance last night thanks to Netflix. I had heard that it was about four twenty-somethings living in New York City, trying to get a break after college. At first I thought “oh great, another hipster show.” But then I said “OK why not give it a chance?” After all, I can relate to being so jobless that it hurts so maybe I’ll be able to relate. I should know by now that my first gut instinct is usually always right.

Fifteen minutes into the first episode and I wanted to shove pins into my eyes. It’s not that the acting was terrible. In fact, it was spot on to how people my age are, which as most of you may or may not know, is the epitome of everything I despise. It’s such a shame, because all of those girls are so beautiful and talented. Marnie, played by NBC news anchor Brian Williams’s daughter (he must be so proud), Allison Williams, is gorgeous yet she’s selling herself so short. The only redeeming quality was her ability to be somewhat nurturing to Hannah (Dunham) yet she failed to see that she needs her own love as much as she gives to her best friend. By the time the first episode was over I just felt very sad. That’s no way to live. Maybe I woke up way before they did or I’m just doomed. I really don’t know anymore.

Most reviews that I’ve read mention Lena Dunham’s character’s “sense of entitlement” and how she thinks the world owes her all of these things because she went to college. I see that in real life and it sickens me how people of my generation expect things to come their way instead of earning them, but I also somewhat sympathized with her because I know how hard it is to land a job in this economy, yet I also wanted to smack her in the face because while she was calling herself a “writer,” it was pretty obvious that she barely wrote a thing. She spent most of her screen time complaining about what she wasn’t getting while she hardly gave anything back to deem herself worthy of a job. An entry in your journal about your best friend’s love life is not what I would consider to be a “memoir.” Sometimes I refrain from calling myself a writer because I haven’t had anything published yet, but after starting my blog, writing for Buzznet and sending in short stories for a couple of writing contests this year, I think I’m safe to call myself a writer now. I hate to sound all full of myself, I swear I’m not, but I can’t stand all of this stupidity that runs rampant with my generation. I’ll admit in my teen years I was once that person who felt somewhat entitled for some things but I’m lucky to have woken up and fixed my mistakes. What scares me is that since I’m trying to make my mark in the writing world, and I’m in my twenties, I’ll be boxed into that stereotype that I’m just like the rest of them. They’ll look me over and pick the person who suggests sleeping with her boss is the way to get ahead only because that person went to college and I didn’t. Where the f!$# is the justice in that?! When I write, I want to inspire people. I want to write about happy things- not because I don’t know sadness, but because I DO know what it’s like to want to end it all. But making mistakes is how you learn so I guess they’re doing it differently?

Not only was Girls saddening, but it was disgusting. Don’t even get me started on the hipster sex. These girls demand respect yet they can’t see that they are degrading themselves to such belittlement. Those guys (except maybe Marnie’s boyfriend) so obviously did not respect them in the least. What was up with that douchy guy Hannah was sleeping with? Did she honestly think that guy was only sleeping with her? What about her ex-boyfriend from college? Was she blind to the fact that he was gay? Are these women high 90% of the time that they cannot see these things? For Dunham to say that she’s the voice of her generation (while high on opium) I think it’s safe to scream “apocalypse please!!!” at the top of your lungs.

Needless to say, after giving it a chance, I would rather have been eaten alive by maggots than have to sit through the rest of the season. I’ve also never appreciated where I am in my life until now, so at least those precious hours I sadly wasted were good for something. I’d never want my life to be like that. Lena had said that the show was a real depiction of her life; if that’s true, I just really want to give her a hug and tell her it’ll be okay…but it looks like she’s doing great so…yay?

I found this from a review I read on The Tablet and thought it fit perfectly:

“…Girls isn’t a poorly made show; it’s a poorly made moral decision, a decision to remain at the still point of the turning world and retreat into a world that’s hardly larger than a Brooklyn neighborhood where no one has any sense of agency or urgency or dignity or grace.”

By the way, I’ve lived in Greenpoint, Brooklyn for most of my life and the “twenty-something hipster population” has grown within the past eight years. I’d prefer the elderly over them. But hey, that’s just me being “a snob.” -_-

I always say to try to take away something good from every bad situation. In my case, I’ll be learning what not to do in life through Girls.

2 thoughts on “Sorry/Not Sorry: My View on HBO’s ‘Girls’

Leave a Reply

