“When I wake up I’m afraid that somebody else might take my place”

We all have a fear of being replaced at least once in our lives. The idea of having another in your place, the place you’ve worked so hard to get to can be crippling. Whether it be career related or relationship woes, the fear of being replaced looms over me more often than not lately. When will I ever slow down and drill “life and love are not a race” into my head??

Sometimes we just need that one chance to prove ourselves. When we can show the world and ourselves that we are worthy. When the fear of being replaced is ironically in competition with the fear of not being noticed in time, I tend to panic. Why? Because over the years, I’ve noticed that there’s always going to be someone better; someone prettier; someone more worthy than anything I could ever give despite my best intentions. Sometimes I want to scream “BUT I WAS HERE FIRST!!!” but life isn’t fair, unfortunately.

Irrational and ridiculous? Yes. Will it ever stop? Absolutely not. But I’m only human.

“When I wake up I’m afraid that somebody else might take my place”

3 thoughts on ““When I wake up I’m afraid that somebody else might take my place”

Leave a Reply

