The Beauty of Sheer Effort: How Change Can Turn Into Progress

Image

When I think of the word “change” I immediately think of progress.  I always used to associate it with bad things to come.  I don’t know why but as I grew older, I realized change was something to hope for.  I guess I used to associate change with things that I didn’t want to happen.  I didn’t know there could be positive aspects of change.  It takes growing up to fully grasp the fact that as things change, we are becoming the people we were meant to be but only if we allow these changes to take flight.

Change keeps us thriving.  I don’t know where or who I would be without it.  I started to feel a drastic shift in my life in the summer of 2010.  I was in a semi-toxic relationship that was going nowhere but down.  One night I had a dream that, as cheesy as it sounds, changed my life.  I didn’t actually know the person in real life in my dream but I knew of them.  In that dream, we were just sitting around having an in depth conversation, about what, to this day I have no idea.  I woke up that morning knowing that things were about to change in a drastic way, and God was at the helm about to make it all happen.  It confused the hell out of me but I figured out how to feel things out that way.  In fact, it still confuses me but I have this feeling that it’s connected to something.

A few months later, I ended that bad relationship and started to feel brand new.  My life was just starting but I had no idea how or where to start.  I was 21 years old and I had no idea what I wanted to do with my life.  When most people are in college and/or have jobs, I was completely lost but I knew I was on the verge of something big.  It just took some time to adjust to the changes going on all around me.

About a year later, after suffering through a brutal couple of bad decisions, I realized I had what I needed all along: writing.  Writing has always been a part of my life, but I was fearful of not being good enough.  That fear crippled me until one day I said to myself: “That is enough! You are going to write because you are damn good at it and you know it!”  I realized that I do have a lot to offer the world and maybe I could possibly help someone in the process.  That night I enrolled in a Freelance Writing course and I truly believe it was the best decision I’ve made thus far.

Change is inevitable.  We are so stuck in our ways that sometimes we never think that success is even possible for us.  It takes courage to accept these changes and move forward with them.  You never know how fast your life can change in the blink of an eye.  Create your own change.  Do something that scares you!  I may not be exactly where I pictured I’d be at 24, but I’m on my way – all because I allowed myself to change.

Leave a Reply

