How My Hobby of Writing Saved Me

writeI came across a writing prompt today that asked the question: “why do you write?” I immediately thought about my final project for my writing course. I thought I’d share. Enjoy.

Hobbies are a way for us to express who we are and to find happiness in the things that make us come alive.  Everyone has a hobby and for me, that activity is writing.  I have been writing since I learned the alphabet.  Once I knew how to put a pen to paper, I was completely absorbed in it.  I would write everything down, even things that most people would consider a waste of time, just to practice my penmanship.  I would write down song lyrics, my favorite quotes and chapters from books but I never really knew what I was truly capable of until I started to write from the heart.

When I was in elementary school, all I wanted to do was write.  Most children groaned at the thought of writing an essay but I marveled in it.  I thrived in my seventh grade Creative Writing class.  At the time I never even thought about pursuing writing as a career.  All I knew was that I loved to write and when I didn’t have anyone to relate to, writing was always there.  My teachers and parents always said I was an exceptional writer but I never truly believed them.  They have to say that stuff, right?  That’s the thing with writers: we wallow in self-pity; we never think we’re good enough.  I’m slowly getting over that notion but I am human after all.  It’s crazy to think that some of the world’s best writers felt that way also!  Once you start believing in yourself, you can get through anything.

What intrigues me the most about writing is that it helps me see things clearly.  Sometimes I’ll be struggling with something and then once I write everything down, or even while I’m hashing it all out, I suddenly start to understand all of the noise inside of my head.  Writing gives you answers.  It allows you to go deep into your conscience and craft something you never knew you were capable of creating.  As a writer, I tend to fall in love with words and I sometimes like to play around with them just to see where they may take me. I’m always curious to see what it can do for me; to see how hard I can push myself to be better and to realize what I’m really made of.

Before I started to pursue writing, I was always curious about it but I never knew where to start.  I ultimately gave up for stupid reasons.  I didn’t think I could pull it off.  I had so many people in my head telling me what I should do and what will pay the bills that just the mere thought of going after what I was really passionate about scared me.  I started to pursue other interests such as public relations and travel planning.  Both were remarkable fields but to put it bluntly – I was miserable.  Public relations had a lot of writing involved but it wasn’t the creative kind I always dreamed of.  During that time, I found myself at the library a lot, devouring books every week, mainly because I was scared that I had nothing to offer the world, so I would wrap myself up in some other person’s life for a few hours just to get through the day.  I felt something brewing there for a while but it was frustrating to not know what it was.  I was so captivated in these authors’ stories that I came to the realization that I could do what they do.  I could write stories and articles that inspire people to go out there and do great things!  Finally, after a disheartening four years of figuring out what I wanted to do with my life, I decided to take a Freelance Writing course.  I knew I loved to write, but that wasn’t enough.  I needed something I could do to prove to myself that I was born for it.  Enrolling in that course was the best decision I have ever made thus far.  Once I dived into the first assignment, I just knew it was right for me.  What a relief, right?  Sure, but there is still a lot of hard work involved but because I love writing, it does not feel like work one tiny bit- unless I’m stuck, of course, but that comes with the territory.

After a couple of months of nonstop writing, I discovered a special place for me to get my writing out there, which was exactly what I was looking for.  A personal blog just doesn’t cut it sometimes.  I wanted a bigger audience.  Then came the lovely land of Buzznet. Buzznet is a user-generated entertainment webzine, meaning that anybody can join. We create our own content and basically make a name for ourselves.  Buzznet has been such a great place for me to create the pieces of writing I’ve always wanted to write.  The best part is that the site covers a wide variety of topics so whatever you have to say will be heard.  The feedback is incredible.  Buzznet not only allows me to write but it also lets me discover other talents that I never knew I was good at until now.  It feels like I have found my home.

Deciding to write is probably the easiest step I ever had to make but it can also be the hardest.  Some things I’ve noticed about people who have never written before but are toying with the idea of writing are that, like me, they often wonder where it may take them or if they’re even good enough to begin with.  Then the burdens of creative and financial freedom start to hit you.  Most questions that come to mind are: will I be able to write what I want, when I want, where I want?  Will people crush my creative freedom in order to get something out of it for themselves?  How can I support myself and my family on little income?  All of those valid questions are troubling but ask yourself this first: what do you do when you need solace?  What do you do when you need to vent or figure out a tough situation?  What do you love to do more than anything in the world?  What compels you to write?  If your answer to any of those questions is “writing,” then the rest will all come naturally.  I honestly still don’t know how it’s all supposed to work but I have a pretty good feeling about it.  I’m a worrier by nature but once I start writing, everything starts to feel okay.  Writing gives me a sense of control.

A lot of beginners tend to panic and wonder if they’re doing everything the right way.  I’m one of those people.  One thing I’ve learned is that there is no one set formula for writing.  Some writers prefer to write an outline and some don’t.  That’s fine, as long as it works to your advantage.  I find outlines to be extremely helpful because sometimes you tend to forget everything you want to say.  Other times I find free writing to be just as beneficial.  I also find that writing in my journal helps to get the creative juices flowing.  Think of it as a warm-up before the big game!

Sometimes we don’t understand why we do the things we do.  We just assume it’s just because we’re happy doing certain activities.  We don’t fully grasp the fact that sometimes our hobbies are our true calling in life.  When I was stressed out trying to figure out what I wanted to do with my life, I had no idea that I was doing it all along.  I was reading and writing to my heart’s content.  I was writing in my journal about how upset I was that I was in my twenties and still couldn’t figure out what I should be pursuing.  It turns out that I had what I needed all along.  I guess you can say that writing saved me.  Sometimes I don’t even like to tell people that I’m a writer because I haven’t had anything published yet.  I wind up feeling like a fraud; but I know in my heart that I am a writer; always have and always will be.  To think it all started as a hobby is mind-blowing to me.  I will leave you with one piece of advice: do what scares you.  You just might surprise yourself.

2 thoughts on “How My Hobby of Writing Saved Me

  1. I love this piece. Writing does much of what you describe for me as well – the clarity, the expression is unbelievable. I love it, and it is my anchor in challenging times as well as the good times. It is what I love more than anything – creating the winding words of thoughts and lanes of songs.

    I want to make a living writing, but it terrifies me. I don’t know what the first steps are and how to go about it. Thank you so much for your inspiration. I’m heading out to check out Buzznet now! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

