For The Faint Of Heart

I’ve never relied too much on religion growing up.  I’m not sure why.  Maybe it was because I didn’t quite understand it or I never had any “life-changing” affirmations.  In high school, I wasn’t exactly a believer since I felt like my existence was pure punishment. Oh teenage rebellion.  Everything changed in February of 2010.

It started out like any other day although it was a sad day.  My mom and my aunt were headed to a funeral.  I’m not sure why I wasn’t there but now I realize that God was looking out for me too, as I would not have been able to handle the situation had I been there.  My aunt had said she was feeling weird as they arrived at church.  Suddenly, she started to get lightheaded and dizzy.  My mom said she looked over at my aunt and her whole world fell apart.  In seconds my aunt fainted.  They called the ambulance and the EMTs had to shock her heart back to rhythm.  Long story short, she was diagnosed with ARVC, which is a genetic heart condition.  She now has a defibrillator.  I tested positive for the gene but I don’t have the disease and I’m trying to stay healthy so I can keep it that way.

You might be asking what this has to do with faith and God.  That day changed everything for me on many levels.  It really got me thinking.  My aunt lives alone and this could have happened when she was home without anyone around to know what happened.  Instead, it happened in a church (amazing) with her family around her.  Clearly God has something big lined up for her.  I can’t wait to see what it is!

Since then, God has shown me that He’s everywhere and that’s a big comfort.  He’s shown me so much over the past three years that it makes me regret not turning to Him sooner.

3 thoughts on “For The Faint Of Heart

Leave a Reply

