Everything Has Changed

Today’s Daily Prompt:

Everything Changes: Walking down the street, you encounter a folded piece of paper on the sidewalk. You pick it up and read it and immediately, your life has changed. Describe this experience.

I knew he was in my city but I didn’t know where.  Normally, whenever he was here, I’d feel his presence but knew it wasn’t the right time.  Somehow, I found myself walking to the subway station, not really sure of where I was going.  As I was about to make the trek down into the underground, I saw it just lying there, staring at me to pick it up; a lone piece of folded paper on the sidewalk.  I picked it up cautiously, aware of my nerves freaking out on me, as per usual.  As I opened it up, I felt a surge of hope fly through me.  Everything is going to be okay.  This was my godwink, the one I’d been waiting for.  “Columbus Circle.  8:21 p.m..”

As I rode the subway, I couldn’t help the jitters.  Was I insane?  I always assumed I was.  Maybe it’s finally time?  Could this really be it?  Was there some sort of divine force that dragged me out of my house and down to that subway station?

As I walked up the stairs out of the station, I had to stop a minute to catch my breath.  I didn’t know what I was doing but it somehow felt right.  As I made my way across the street, there I saw him.  He looked my way and stared for a good minute, like he was expecting me.  I walked closer, slowly, unsure of what to do, trying not to collapse into a heap in the middle of a busy New York City street because my legs felt like rubber bands.  He walked up to me, introduced himself and showed me a piece of paper he found…in his town.  We both smiled.

“Something told me I should come here, and so I did – and boy, am I glad I did” he said.

I was speechless yet somehow, his eyes told me I didn’t need to say a thing.  He knew it all by heart.  It was as if he lived through it too.  That’s when I realized.  “Oh my God. You had that dream too?”  He smiled.  I already knew the answer – and just like that, everything had changed.

 

6 thoughts on “Everything Has Changed

Leave a Reply

