An Open Letter To Music

Image

 

Dear Music,

It all started at the tender age of 6. I received the Clueless soundtrack as a birthday gift (on cassette) and I never looked back. Growing up, I listened to all of the music my parents played around the house. Mostly The Beatles. Or when my dad left, Whitney Houston, as my mom raised the volume up on VH1 whenever her videos came on. But I never imagined you’d find me the way you did: naturally. After I started to realize everything that was happening with my parents, I was under the impression that music was a bad thing. Somehow, that didn’t stop me and you’ve proved that notion wrong.

Sure I may have listened to questionable artists such as Mariah Carey growing up that had nothing to do with my life, but as a kid, that’s normal. Music was enjoyable and it didn’t have such a big significance as when you are at the age to fully appreciate it…and feel it….and relate to it on a personal level.

It wasn’t until the fall of 2001 that I fully started to grasp the true meaning of music. Michelle Branch’s The Spirit Room changed everything for me. I couldn’t relate to much of it at the time, but I was on my way. I was 13. A few years later, I had no idea you were going to save my life continuously for years to come.

When life started to punch me in the face at 15, you were there. When I was trying to mend my shattered heart at 17, you were there. When I was falling in love at 18 you were there. When I lost myself for four years, no doubt about it, you were there too. You are always there, finding me at the moments when I need you the most. I love when you show me new things or a new perspective. I love when you bring me lyrics that mirror my own desires and emotions. You’re just perfect. Are you working with God? Somehow I think you are.

So, thank you, music, for being there when nobody else was. Thank you for giving me hope. Thank you for making me feel infinite and for the nights when my tears and the floor were my solid ground. Thank you for being that voice in my ears that tells me things I never would have thought of unless I pressed play.

2 thoughts on “An Open Letter To Music

Leave a Reply

