Reality Show For Writers

We’ve seen them all – or at least heard of them. Reality shows have taken over every channel on television, and it doesn’t look like relief will be coming any time soon. From the monstrosity that is Here Comes Honey Boo Boo to The Bachelor to talent competitions such as American Idol, America’s Got Talent and The X Factor, there really is no escaping reality, or lack thereof. The takeover is real and it got me thinking. With so many talent competitions on TV nowadays, why aren’t there any shows for writers?

Can you imagine what a reality show for writers would entail? Now that I think about it, it might be pretty boring or even sad to watch. Imagine there’s a writing prompt that contestants have to answer within 10 minutes. They scramble down their ideas, read them out loud and the audience isn’t too kind. What a bummer. Maybe there’s a reason why we don’t have a reality show. Maybe we’re the selected (and very lucky) few that don’t have to take part in this world’s stupidity.

If a camera had to follow me around all day while I contemplate my ideas, I think they’d fall asleep. I can’t imagine how people can sit in coffee shops and write so I would probably kick the crew out for staring at me all day. It’s a tough life but someone’s gotta do it. 😀

2 thoughts on “Reality Show For Writers

Leave a Reply

