Dude, Where’s My Spell Checker?

Everyone makes mistakes – some are embarrassing while some are great learning experiences. Mistakes are inevitable. I’m no stranger to them myself. However, whenever I see numerous typos in an article for a top-rated magazine or anywhere else with great notoriety, let me be perfectly blunt: it gets under my skin!

For so long, I’ve encountered many situations where I was told that I am nothing without a degree. It’s funny though because the people who tell me this can barely write one concise paragraph. The worst part is that they seem to forget one of the many great conveniences of computer software: spell check! I say this all the time and I will continue to scream it until the day I die: PROOFREAD, PROOFREAD, PROOFREAD. You are making not only yourself look like an incompetent a-hole, but the company you are representing gets flack for it as well.

I was watching NBC Nightly News this evening, and while on the topic of the death of rocker Lou Reed, this happened:

Image

While host, Lester Holt, was reporting that Reed was 71, I had to do a double take. So he died at the age of 71, yet he was born in 1924? Obviously, the correct date is 1942 so whoever typed it out got the numbers confused. It happens! But, really, NBC? Okay, mistakes are understandable. Like I said before, we are all prone to mishaps, but I just honestly do not understand why or how things like this make it on the air. Doesn’t anyone check this stuff before it goes live? If that were me who typed out the wrong birth year, I’d be mortified, even if viewers have no idea who I am. If I’m representing someone or something, I make sure everything is pristine. I didn’t learn that in college. It’s just one of the many qualities that make me who I am.

I am sick of being turned away because I don’t have a piece of paper. I may not be Einstein, but I have the passion and the drive. There is nothing I cannot learn. This mentality needs to change and I want to be the one to change it. The moral of today’s story? Everyone makes mistakes, but everyone has the power to correct them. Also, if anyone needs a proofreader, my contact info is located on the right hand side of the page. 😉

Leave a Reply

