In All Things, Give Thanks

ImageFor the past few years, I’ve taken part in the activity of sharing what I am thankful for on Thanksgiving. I love reflecting on who I was versus the person I am today. When I was younger, I didn’t see things as I see them now. To be quite honest, I wasn’t thankful for anything and I either took everything for granted or saw the negative side more than the positive.

Fortunately things have changed. I’m able to look at things from the brighter side and I am a lot more happier. While I do enjoy reading what people are thankful for, I also find it to be a tad bit forced. Why only express your gratitude once a year? After the past three years of eye opening experiences and personal growth, I can honestly say that I find something to be thankful for everyday.

On a cold windy day, as I curl up on the couch with a book, I’m thankful for the roof over my head, warm blankets and my bed. We often take these things for granted. At 25, most of my peers have their own places, and while I do dream of having my own place as well, I’m grateful for my mother and how we take care of each other. I realize that if it weren’t for her, I’d probably be homeless right now, since my job search (along with my self-confidence) is at an all time low. If you are in the same situation and your “friends” give you shit for still living with your parents, throw everything mentioned above in their faces and move on.

Things that used to be so mundane have turned into things that I’m starting to appreciate more and more as I get older. I could sit here and list all of the things I am thankful for, including my entire music collection, but that would be pointless. Besides, I do that here on Buzznet on a regular basis. šŸ˜‰

I am thankful for the ability to recognize my blessings. It could be a lot worse, but it isn’t. With a little more time, patience and hard work, it will be even better. I like the fact that I can give thanks on a daily basis.

We may not have what everyone thinks we should have, but if you look around, you just might find that you have everything you need and more. This Thanksgiving and all year round, see what you can do to improve the lives of others.

Happy Thanksgiving! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

