Fearless In 2014: To Brag or Not To Brag?

ITS-NOT-BRAGGINGSelf-promoting has become easier and more customizable with the rise of social media. We can choose who we get updates from when and how we want them. While some people (myself included) feel funny self-promoting, I can honestly say that it does feel gratifying. Of course there’s the stigma of being secretly hated for self-promoting, but if you’re doing it for the sole purpose of bettering yourself, I really don’t see a problem. Musicians promote their music, artists promote their art (unless they’re hipsters and want to hide it from the world while complaining that they’re not getting anywhere) and of course, bloggers and writers promote their work. It’s so easy to be your own agent now. I’m just upset I never started sooner.

Let me put it bluntly: I hate to brag. Mainly because I feel like I have nothing worth bragging about and if I mention any of my little accomplishments to others, I get looked at like I have two heads. I’m proud of the things I’ve done so far with my writing, but compared to what society deems acceptable, it really is nothing. Bubble is burst, confidence drained. The people I’ve interviewed, the albums and shows I’ve reviewed, and the special segments I’ve single-handedly created mean the world to me. They’re the things I can look back on with admiration and be reminded of where I started from. They’re my babies and I need to start acting like a proud mother and stop thinking that people shouldn’t care about them as much as I do. I love hearing everyone’s feedback and without self-promotion (and social media), my work wouldn’t be landing in the hands of the people who actually care what I have to say.

My first step in my Fearless In 2014 movement is to spruce up my resume so I can finally get hired this year instead of complaining about the lack of opportunities around me. My friends and family have been telling me (more like drilling it into my head) to list every little accomplishment from the past two years. In other words, sell myself…hardcore. I’ve known this forever, yet I don’t listen because I feel foolish bragging about things. I’m always so afraid that if I list these things, I won’t measure up somehow. I guess that makes me foolish too, huh? This frightens me but I’m willing to take the chance of looking like an overly hopeful puppy if it can open some doors. After all, if you don’t toot your own horn, who will? Unfortunately, I’ve learned from my father that if you don’t sell yourself, you get nowhere. We all like to imagine that one day the right person will randomly choose us from a bunch of other candidates, praise our work and hire us on the spot but sadly that rarely happens, if at all. With attention spans hitting an all time low within the past decade, it is now up to us to win over our future bosses. I’m willing to bet that in turn, I can add that to my list of accomplishments sometime soon.

The workforce is filled with disappointment and being looked over. I get offended easily and I’m trying to develop a thicker skin so I can handle myself under such pressures. Ultimately, I’d like to start my own thing one day. I’m not a fan of how things are run in the workforce and I want to change a lot of things by encouraging workers and letting them know they are doing a good job. Too many good workers are being cast out for the most unfair reasons and it sickens me. People lie and cheat their way through the system. The wrong people are being hired who just simply don’t care about the tasks at hand. Everything feels like a race and if we all just stopped for one minute and thought about everything, we’d realize that at the end of the day, we all want something out of life. We all have dreams and we should use our time wisely by trying to fulfill them to the best of our abilities. It doesn’t matter who got there first. What matters is what we do to get to them. With a strong moral compass, we can surpass evil and prevail.

So as I spruce up my resume, I’m going to punch my fear in the face and tell it to shut up; that these victories are mine and that I am worthy of something I will be happy with. Honesty is nothing to be feared but admired. Keep calm and toot on! Well, you know what I mean. 😀

Related

If You Don’t Toot Your Own Horn, Who Will? | Watch Nonnie Write!

Fearless In 2014

Introducing: Project Fearless In 2014

The Satisfaction of Progress

#fearlessin2014

20 thoughts on “Fearless In 2014: To Brag or Not To Brag?

  1. I should probably update my resume as well.
    I can relate to your situation – I’m just not good at selling myself. But at least I know what I wrote in my resume is true, although it’s not fancy at all.
    Best of luck to you in your job hunting (:

    Like

Leave a Reply

