I’m Leaving You My Legacy

Today’s Daily Prompt: Imagine yourself at the end of your life. What sort of legacy will you leave? Describe the lasting effect you want to have on the world, after you’re gone.

We all want to leave behind some sort of legacy. Sometimes, I often think I’d be better off if I just shut up and stopped writing. Is anybody even reading what I have to say and do they care? Can they relate? While it would be nice to have a large following as the years go on, when I think about what I want to leave behind at the end of my life, all I can think about are my loved ones. I want to leave them with the inspiration to carry on through the rough times. I want to have a vault with everything I’ve ever written so my children and their children can look back and enjoy them by passing them on through each generation.

I want to be known as the girl who finally got her happy ending. I know it sounds lame and I probably should be focusing more on my career aspects for the future, but I don’t want to be known as the girl who had a dream, foolishly waited around/followed it, and wound up alone. I have so much love to give and I want the storybook romance that my grandparents had.

I want to be known for being a solution, (or just a refreshing change) to my generation rather than just adding to the problem. I refuse to write about getting drunk on a Saturday night and call it journalism. When I leave this world, I want it all to matter. I want to be proud, and I want to love. Always.

5 thoughts on “I’m Leaving You My Legacy

Leave a Reply

