Tina’s World

I found a rather interesting writing prompt today and thought I’d give it a shot.

Which painting would you like to be able to step into and spend a day inside? Why that one? Explain your choice then describe your day.

Christinas World 2

Christina’s World is a 1948 painting by Andrew Wyeth. The girl in the painting, Anna Christina Olson, suffered from polio, which paralyzed her lower body. Wyeth was inspired to create the painting when he saw her crawling across a field while watching from a window. While I do not suffer from any kind of disease nor do I pay much attention to art, I’ve always identified with this painting.

The house on the hill represents everything I could have. The girl in the field is me, beat down, jaded and terribly exhausted. She feels the world is against her, but God is with her. Through it all, she keeps looking at what she could have and it pushes her to keep moving. Someone special is in that house (but let’s just hope he doesn’t know she’s outside because that would be a real shitty thing to do) and he has no idea what’s in store for him either.

If I could spend a day inside Christina’s World, I’d pick her up and carry her over to her desired destination. Everyone craves help every now and then. Wouldn’t it be nice to have someone carry you out of the pits of hell and bring you to the safe place you’ve always dreamed of? I’d lay in the field for a while, taking in the fresh air I rarely get to inhale and revel in how magical the little things are. After living in such a congested city for 19 years, wide open spaces feel threatening yet oddly enough, like home.

I’d give Christina a better world. I’m still trying to navigate through mine.

I hope he’s in there. I can’t say I’d be shocked if he weren’t.

 

Leave a Reply

