I Wish That I Could Be Like The Cool Kids

cool

She sees them walking in a straight line, that’s not really her style.
They all got the same heartbeat, but hers is falling behind.

I never thought I’d say this now, but it’s really not hard to feel like an outsider, even in your twenties. While every one of us is significantly different, we’re all still the same. The desire to belong isn’t only present in our adolescence. We all need someone who gets us – who supports us through the good and the bad. Even if they don’t understand, just having at least one ally is comforting.

Fitting in was never really an issue for me growing up. I’m not a fan of sacrificing who I am to make others feel more secure about themselves. But what happens when you feel like the odd one out later in life in the working world? It seems like everyone follows the same path to get from Point A to Point B. What about the others who took a detour? Will they eventually get to Point B, despite their failed attempts to follow the leader? What if the wanderers are the leaders? Are you catching on?

They’re driving fast cars, but they don’t know where they’re going
In the fast lane, living life without knowing

Lately, I feel like my life is one big failed inspirational poster. “You have the potential to do anything you dream!” meanwhile, the very tiny fine print at the bottom states “…only if you follow the rules and meet all of the required credentials like everyone else. Sorry, loser!”

BUT I’M NOT LIKE EVERYONE ELSE!

I’ve been shouting that phrase to everyone for as long as I can remember. My family, teachers, friends, boyfriends. It’s like I’m not enough. I need to be molded into a certain acceptable way in order to function “in the real world” and quite frankly, I am sick of it. I’m tired of having to defend myself. I know there are a few things I probably should have done years ago, but shoulda woulda coulda. Maybe I don’t want to follow a program with a required set of steps for “life success.” If you feel this way, no disrespect, but where’s your spontaneity? Life may not be a big bowl of ice cream for me right now, but I’ve never been more aware and alive than ever. I’m learning, just like you (at least I hope you are) and just because I don’t want what you have doesn’t mean I don’t deserve greatness.

I wish that I could be like the cool kids,
‘Cause all the cool kids, they seem to get it.

While I firmly believe I was not meant to take the straight path in life, I also just wish it was easier. What would my life be like if I did everything the way everyone else does? What if I hung out with the “cool kids?” What if I walked in a straight line, single file, and did as I was told? Who would I be?

Honestly, no one I’d respect.

But..it would still be nice to be like the cool kids.

 

 

4 thoughts on “I Wish That I Could Be Like The Cool Kids

  1. Being different is hard. I don’t know who the “cool kids” are, but I doubt they have the same level of self-awareness, which in effect, brings more opportunity for personal growth in the long run. I’d wager you’ll achieve more in one life-time than many “cool kids.” Generally speaking, I think the twenties are especially difficult. It’s a vast difference from the first 20 years of life, so in relation to that, it seems like a monumental adjustment and therefore some confusion–or a lot–definitely seems to be in order. But I don’t really know about facts, all I know of are opinions. Either way, keep hope, and maintain your self-respect, and once you love yourself (if you don’t fully already), you’ll belong to you and then maybe you won’t feel like an outsider, because you’ll have all you need on the inside. There’s anothe opinon. Ooops.. I’ll stop and just say, “good luck” now. And carry on well. And…. nice post.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I guess you’re not alone. Sometimes I do feel like an outsider. But I guess now I learn to share my world with others and engaging them in my life. It gives my friends a glimpse of what I do and what I enjoy and it decreases confusions and doubts. If I were younger I’d probably be filled with rage and think that this entire universe just don’t get me. I think I’ve grown for the past few years and learning how to let people in and see my world from my lens.
    I do think that right now it’s a difficult phase. You want to belong but it seems like there’s no place for you to go to. I think that you’ve come a long, long way. I think that you’re a high functioning individual who is aware of your own thoughts and emotions and I think that’s cool enough (:

    Like

Leave a Reply

