5 Things I Wish I Knew When I Was 20

20

I just finished reading What I Wish I Knew When I Was 20: A Crash Course on Making Your Place In The World by Tina Seelig. Seelig is a Stanford University professor and creator of the current free course I am taking online through Stanford titled Creativity: Music To My Ears, where we learn how music comes into play through most scenarios of our lives while infusing creativity into the mix. Seelig has sort of become a mentor for me (must be the name) and has confirmed the notion that I don’t need to ask permission in order to reach my goals. I just need to get out there and go DO! It’s so refreshing to hear things like that when you’re in a constant state of flux and confusion.

I’m only 25, but 5 years can pass us by in an instant. A lot can happen in 5 years – a lot can stay the same too if we let it. While things have changed drastically for me since I was 20, I’ve also learned that I need to make some drastic changes in order to grow. I don’t want to be who I was at 20 to coincide with who I am at 30. I’m not saying I’m the same person I was 5 years ago; things have happened since then that have changed me for the better, but there’s always that lingering fear of never evolving. I’m just glad I’m well aware of it now, rather than 10 years from now.

Here are the 5 things I wish I knew when I was 20:

1. You are more than enough. You are capable and you are worthy.

– In our youth, we tend to let the things that have been drilled into our heads from others ruin us. The truth is, we all have the potential to achieve greatness. Don’t let them dim your spark. Remind them they are worthy too, and that putting others down only takes them a step backwards.

2. Don’t put off the important things. They catch up pretty fast.

– We often tell ourselves that we aren’t ready for certain things. But, if not now, when? Fear isn’t going anywhere. Do it afraid.

3. Your love for music isn’t useless, despite what others tell you.

– Before BUZZNET, I used to ramble on about music to people who didn’t care. I still feel like people don’t care sometimes, but then I get a nice ‘thank you’ from a band or a comment from a fellow fan and it makes it all worth it. I may know a lot of useless information about music, but there are other nerds like me out there and there’s no doubt that we appreciate each other. I love that I get to combine my two loves together and put it out into the world. I’m not your average music writer and I am determined to break the boundaries in all aspects of the field. Listen. Write. Repeat.

4. You were born to write. Wake up and start!

– At 20, I wanted to work in the hotel industry. I have a certificate in hotel/restaurant management. I thought I would be living in my hometown of Florida, making my way to Walt Disney World every morning. But something felt off. I wish I would have re-discovered my writing way sooner than I did. I wrote things privately, afraid of letting others inside my thoughts and that stifled my creativity.

5. He’s not the one. Ignore his hurtful words. God will wake you up (literally, BIG TIME) very soon.

– What a blessing. 🙂

1

“Why did you wait so long? Fear that I might be lost. Who says you need a plan at all?”

2 thoughts on “5 Things I Wish I Knew When I Was 20

Leave a Reply

