All The Right Friends In All The Right Places

BlogPicIn this messed up world, they say “it’s not what you know but who you know.” The only way to make it is to know the “right” people and to schmooze your way to the top, or “network,” as they call it. Maybe I’m the self-sabotaging one and I’m ruining my chances of ever having a successful career, but I just sort of refuse to kiss someone’s ass in order to get where I want to be. It’s never been who I am and I don’t plan on selling my soul to obtain something I didn’t earn, especially from people who only “help” you if they think something is in it for them.

Sometimes, I look around and I realize that I have everything I need. I am healthy, have a good family and am capable of doing anything I put my mind to. Then, I look at society’s point of view and I have absolutely nothing. They tell me I am nothing without a career. I am nothing without money. It’s a constant battle – back and forth, the war rages on within myself. Who do I believe? Which one will lead me to an acceptable standpoint? Will the devil on my shoulder ever go away?

I want to be able to build a name for myself on my own. I want to land a job because people appreciate what I stand for and think I can add something different to the table. I see so many people landing dream jobs that anyone would kill for simply because they had an “in” somewhere. Their work isn’t anything to brag about and it lacks any sort of passion or depth. No one ever said life would be fair but I just wish it would give us a break every once in a while.

I don’t want a life of luxury. I just want to be able to do what I love beside the people I love. I want to look back at the end of my life and know that I did it all on my own terms; that I achieved what I did because I was good at it, not because I knew “the right people.” To me, the right people are the ones who stick by you through it all and make it easier to navigate your way through the darkness.

The darkness, which I now call the present.

EDIT: While in a way, I do like the idea of landing a job because a friend referred you to the right place, I also just wish we could land the job of our dreams because we’re good at it, not because of who we know. I also wish people would stop stepping all over each other. That’s not success, in my eyes.

 

“I know we got it good, but they got it made,
And their grass is getting greener each day,
I know things are looking up, but soon they’ll take us down,
Before anybody’s knowing our name”

Leave a Reply

