The Middle: Finding Your Place In a Field of Mediocrity

MEDIOCRITYAs I flip through the pages of the most distinguished magazines, I can’t help but wonder where I fit in to the equation. I look at these publications and I feel incomplete somehow – like we’re not on the same page…literally. Obviously periodicals are intended to capture trends and what the world is currently buzzing about, but what kind of message are they really putting out there? It could be a matter of opinion of whether certain publications are contributing something to this world, but it only fuels my insatiable desire to contribute something a bit deeper. Bigger. To go where no journalist has gone before. Because there’s more to life than dressing for a music festival.

As a writer, when I read through magazines, I tend to look at what the market wants. Do I agree with what’s in demand most of the time? Not really, but it inspires me to make the changes I want to see. I often ask myself why I should write like everyone else in my field, and I’ll probably never have the right answers for that one, but I intend on keeping true to my word and only putting what I feel is right out into the world.

At the end of the day, it all boils down to one question: is there a place for me in journalism? Maybe, maybe not. But I have a pretty strong feeling that asking for permission to be the change I want to see isn’t in the equation.

Some people write and blog for the notoriety. They want their names to outshine everything they are writing about. Some just want to be in the spotlight. Some want to be on camera, letting the fame override what really matters. “Look at me.” “It’s all about me.”

For me, it’s about the music.

Always has and always will be.

Purpose

 

“Hey, don’t write yourself off yet
It’s only in your head you feel left out or looked down on
Just do your best, do everything you can
And don’t you worry what the bitter hearts are gonna say”

3 thoughts on “The Middle: Finding Your Place In a Field of Mediocrity

  1. Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wished to say that
    I have really enjoyed browsing your blog posts.

    In any case I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again soon!

    Like

  2. While the typical computer user could find it acceptable to try out a
    specific game at its lowest setting, a genuine
    gamer won’t be pleased using this. Don’t neglect the soft stuff – Virtually all gaming mice and
    keyboards have software for programming, customizing, and configuring the device.
    Ibuypower gaming computer reviews The world of online games
    has passed many stages of evolution, which appears to look on endlessly.

    They usually are found in offices, schools, as well as other places where personal computers are used.
    Playing strategic video games is beneficial to older individuals, mainly because it helps boost their working memory and decision-making skills.

    Like

Leave a Reply

