What Do YOU Want?

what-do-you-want

A couple of nights ago, an acquaintance I follow asked a question on Twitter that really got me thinking. She asked, “So, does anybody in their 20’s know what they want?” I replied, “somewhat, but no.” I’m not sure why I answered with that, because I do know what I want, but according to the world, what I want just isn’t realistic.

I hate when I listen to the world and not myself.

When I was a teenager and someone asked me what I wanted out of my future (which, holy crap, is right now) my one constant reply was, “I want to be happy.” Back then, I was miserable and just the thought of going through life feeling like I was back then was terrifying. Luckily, a lot has changed since then and I don’t feel that way anymore, but with the weight of the world on my shoulders, telling me one thing while preaching the next, I’m not sure what my next step should be.

What I want out of life may sound simple, but this world has a way of showing us that you can’t have it all. But here’s the good news: YOU CAN!

By ignoring the naysayers, you can have it all. It may take some time, but with perseverance, passion and drive, you CAN and you WILL achieve all you ever dreamed for yourself. Sure, we may not be able to become mermaids but living underwater would suck anyways. 😛

Sometimes it feels like the world is playing tricks on you. I picture it holding my ideal life in it’s hands, then as I’m fiercely jumping up to grab it, it holds it a little higher up, making me want it even more yet feeling as if I’ll never reach it which leads to me thinking I’m either not worthy or it’s not meant for me. Both of these are not the case. Good things just take time.

It’s good to know what you want. It’s great to know what you don’t want. It’s also perfectly okay to not know what you want. Experience life more. Explore. Just don’t stay stagnant.

Money, as much as I hate it’s significance in this life, is probably my biggest problem. Not having enough money (or any at all) holds me back from doing things that I feel might benefit me in the long run. But money can’t buy happiness and not having any has forced me to examine what I’m already blessed with and work with that.

We all need to start somewhere. It’s not about reaching the top, it’s about the journey along the way.

Whenever I’m asked, “what do you want?” I’m always stumbling around to find a realistic answer. People don’t want to hear what we really want, they just want an answer that makes them feel comfortable about their own boring lives, at least that’s how it’s always been in my point of view.

Ask yourself: what do YOU want? It’s not about them. It never was.

 

 

2 thoughts on “What Do YOU Want?

  1. Love this post, especially the Taylor Swift at the end. The question “What do you want?” is always a loaded one. But to be happy really is the best answer to that question. It’s just all about figuring out what is that truly makes you happy and then going for it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

