The Music Seen

cds-stacked

Nowadays, it seems like everyone and their mother has a blog. Music journalism used to be reserved for the big guys – Rolling Stone, Spin, etc. Now, anybody can write about music which isn’t so great for credibility’s sake . For hardcore music fans like myself, this is awesome, but like anything in life there’s always a downside to something too good to be true. Music blogging has turned into a scene. People start blogs to gain street-cred. They show up at shows for the sole purpose of being noticed without paying one mind to who’s actually performing or how the music speaks to people in the audience; it’s all about who’s there, what they are wearing and who they may know.

I come from the last generation who knew what it was like to live without technology, so when the internet was introduced to us, we grabbed it by the horns and it’s been full speed ever since. Now it is impossible to think how we ever survived without it, especially music wise. In order to find album details of any kind (which was pretty much just the release date) we had to spend hours watching television waiting for Kurt Loder (who’s 69 years-old by the way..how did this happen?) to inform us on MTV News or, of course, there was always magazines. Yes, folks! Print format!

I love the internet. Without it, I wouldn’t be able to do what I love. I’m finally starting to build a name for myself and that feels amazing after years of talking to people who don’t care about music as much as I do. Nowadays, it’s easy for anyone to start a blog and gain popularity but it’s getting harder to stand out through all of the noise, despite how successful my blog has been.

I can’t even begin to count all of the music blogs out there right now. Some are pretty impressive while some just don’t take it seriously enough. I’m lucky to be a part of one of the largest entertainment sites out there but I’ll admit that once you start to look around, it can be pretty underwhelming, or overwhelming depending on how you look at it. I think I make it pretty obvious when I share something that I’m passionate about. I guess you could say I’m one of those weird obsessive music nerds who could name off release dates and random music trivia nonsense at any time which, in my humble opinion, makes me the perfect candidate for a paid position in music journalism but judging by the status-quo, I feel so out of place. I am the human version of Pop Up Video. I will never be the ‘too cool for this bar’ type who only writes about music because I can or for the pay.

Everyone seems to write a certain way while piling on the typical jargon that no normal human being can pronounce, let alone understand its meaning, while I’m here just trying to find out how an artist operates. I want to find out the secrets behind my favorite songs, what influences them and why they make music in the first place. I don’t care who they are dating or how I can make myself look “smart.” I just genuinely give a shit. I just wish other writers felt the same before they take up a seat that someone like me could work beautifully in.

Every time I see an article with dozens of typos, I cringe. Maybe it’s the perfectionist in me, but I always think about ways that I would have done it better. Laziness gets you nowhere in my book, but apparently people are getting paid for it.

When I see interviews with great bands who I know have so much insight and they’re asked what their favorite color is, I’m afraid my eyes will stay in the same snarky position forever.

Whenever I see bloggers start to take the focus off of the musicians and put it on themselves, it infuriates me. Sure, as bloggers we have the power – use it for good. Promote something with substance. It’s awesome that you went to a show and had a great time but nobody cares that you made your way through the crowd and drank all night. Talk about the performance. It should be the only reason why you are there.

It’s hard to be taken seriously in this industry when people compare you to other mediocre bloggers. Escaping mediocrity is difficult. It’s hard to find like-minded people who share your objectives and integrity. The question I find myself asking the most is, if they’re all the same and they search for the same qualities, where does that leave me? I have so much to share, so much I want to do…is there anybody out there who will appreciate what I have to offer?

Music writers should be heard but not seen. Sure, hang out at shows. Meet the band if you wanna. But don’t do it for the numbers: the likes, followers, or just to be popular. Do it for how that song made you feel that one night in your bedroom when you felt like your whole world was collapsing. That’s the heart of everything I do and I don’t intend on stopping.

 

3 thoughts on “The Music Seen

  1. Hi, I couldn’t agree with you more. My blog is not a music one, but I do write about rock music as well. I do it as a fan, and as a fan of one particular band. If you want to have a look, go to my music categories. Anyway, I am quite intrigued now and will follow your blog, hope you’ll follow back!

    Like

Leave a Reply

