20 Posts In 20 Days: Values

*For the next 20 days, I am challenging myself to write 20 posts on self-reflection. Times are stressful and it’s easy to lose sight of ourselves and what/who we want to be and achieve. Brave enough to participate? Just follow along and send me your posts via the comments, a pingback, Twitter or Facebook. 🙂

tumblr_mg9n9cvpsy1r44ip7o1_500

Maybe it’s just me, but I’m finding the word “values” to be a foreign concept lately. Our society has become overrun with snark while people seem to confuse feminism with exploitation. For me, I’ve always relied on my values to navigate my way through the rough patches. When you are reminded of what is important to you, it gets easier to weed out what you want and don’t want in life.

We are surrounded by noise in a culture where anything goes and taking responsibility for your actions has been overrun with a sense of entitlement. If I find another person with the same values as me, it feels like Christmas. That isn’t to say that there aren’t any good people out there, but for once, I’d just like to not have to explain myself.

Sometimes, it feels like everyone thinks (or pretends to think) the same way, meanwhile I’m here alone wondering what the hell is wrong with everyone and if I’m in the wrong for feeling a certain way. This automatically makes others think that I’m ultra-conservative when I’m really not. I just value dignity and respect in a way that others don’t. I tend to take the common sense route, but like they say, “common sense isn’t too common.”

In this life, I value honesty. It’s so hard to trust anyone and it feels like everyone lies straight to your face.

I value integrity. Compassion. When someone does his or her job with precision because they love what they do.

I value when others are thankful for any help they receive while paying it forward without any form of reward.

I value true-honest-to-God love. The kind of love my grandparents had and the only type you’ll see in the movies. People are so afraid of showing their emotions to others that they “pretend-like” you just to not come off as clingy. When my generation is 60 and still alone, I’m going to laugh. Who’s fault was that?

Out of everything, I value authenticity. There’s too many fake personalities in this world. I’m tired of trying to decipher people’s true intentions.

“Values” shouldn’t be in the same category as “prude” or “conservative.” It should be what means the most in order to live the life you are happy living. It should be a compass that works together with your heart. After all, if you stand for nothing, you’ll fall for anything.

20 Posts in 20 Days

Who Am I?

“No one will ever see things the way I do. No one will try.”

12 thoughts on “20 Posts In 20 Days: Values

Leave a Reply

