20 Posts In 20 Days: Let’s Love Like Seventeen

*For the next 20 days, I am challenging myself to write 20 posts on self-reflection, etc. Times are stressful and it’s easy to lose sight of ourselves and what/who we want to be and achieve. Brave enough to participate? Just follow along and send me your posts via the comments, a pingback, Twitter or Facebook. 🙂

I’ll never forget it. It’s been a decade, but it feels like yesterday.

10 years ago this week, I gave a letter to a boy I had a crush on in high school. Yes, I was that girl. But I was shy and, as usual, writing was my only way of expressing myself clearly. I remember agonizing over what I was going to write, but once I let down my guard, I was uninhibited.

Unfortunately, this boy wasn’t the man I thought he was and a “we” was never formed. I wasn’t exactly the self-confident type back then, so his half-assed rejection hit me harder than I ever thought. Pain demanded to be felt for me as a teen. Gosh, what a mess I was.

But…I’m still that girl inside. No, not the mess (well, sometimes) but the hopeless romantic type who secretly wishes, despite how jaded I can be, that true love does exist somewhere out there. It may not have happened for me when I was 16 (because life isn’t a Disney movie and I’m not a mermaid) but it can happen at 26. A decade later, I’m twice the person I was but it’s not possible for me to love any less now that I’m grown.

Take this as a lesson that love always burns bright, no matter how many times you’ve fallen.

20 Posts in 20 Days

Who Am I?

Values

Purpose

Describing a Dream

Right Back In Your Face

The Pros and Cons of Living In Greenpoint

5 Twitter Handles You Need To Follow

10 Feel Good Things About Life

This Is How You Lose Her

Either You Write or You “Write”

The Clock Winked

Fragile

The Most Difficult Aspects of Being 26

Emerald and Sapphire

6 thoughts on “20 Posts In 20 Days: Let’s Love Like Seventeen

Leave a Reply

