20 Posts In 20 Days: Meeting Tyler Knott Gregson

*For the next 20 days, I am challenging myself to write 20 posts on self-reflection, etc. Times are stressful and it’s easy to lose sight of ourselves and what/who we want to be and achieve. Brave enough to participate? Just follow along and send me your posts via the comments, a pingback, Twitter or Facebook. 🙂

10729350_1565427563689270_1902667677_nWhy must my cheeks make me look like a chipmunk, tho?

I had the pleasure of meeting poet & photographer Tyler Knott Gregson this past Monday night at a book signing. I had previously interviewed him this past spring for a BUZZNET feature, but never actually met him until this week. I had been having a really unsettling week – anxiety mixed with utter confusion is at it’s height lately and I wasn’t feeling up to going anywhere but I knew I’d regret it if I didn’t go. I was right.

During the Q&A portion of the night, Tyler was asked a series of questions on his new book Chasers of The Light, his writing and personal inspirations behind his poetry. He mentioned how writing shouldn’t be taught; it should come from the heart and how he, like myself, has a noisy brain. It got me thinking about my own writing and how I need to bleed out every word so it doesn’t become so overwhelming. But what really hit home for me was when he was asked about what inspires his poems. He mentioned how most of what he writes is what he’s hoping to obtain; something he’s gravitating towards that he hopes will someday be his and in that moment I almost lost it. I, too, write for those things. Those moments.

We are told every day by society and the people around us that waiting around for something that might not come is unhealthy and that there’s no such thing as a soul mate. Yet, when you look around, people are settling. It’s everywhere. I know I almost did. I was so elated that he said that and I can’t believe there is at least one person in this world who feels the same way I do on so many things. I’m usually the odd one out but that night I felt like a part of something.

I recently posted a poem I had written on Tumblr and someone asked me why I was holding out for someone I’m not sure I’ll ever have. I didn’t know what to say. Naturally, I feel like I’m doing something wrong but people don’t know all the details. A short description in a poem doesn’t even begin to describe what I’ve seen, or more importantly, what I’m feeling. What makes it okay for others to tell us to stop holding out for the one?

Over 250 people showed up, and right before the event started, Tyler mentioned to me how nervous he was and how he wasn’t expecting so many people to come. If that’s not the true definition of humble, then I don’t know what is. I knew when I sent him that e-mail some seven months ago that he was a special force to be reckoned with but I never knew that he could turn my day around with just his words.

Moral of the story: get out there and let things inspire you, despite how crappy you may feel. It may be just what you need.

“…I am just writing about the life I so desperately want to be living.”

A little semi-shameless-self-promotion: If you order Chasers of The Light on Barnes & Noble.com here, check out What People are Saying. You might just see a familiar blurb. 😉

20 Posts in 20 Days

Who Am I?

Values

Purpose

Describing a Dream

Right Back In Your Face

The Pros and Cons of Living In Greenpoint

5 Twitter Handles You Need To Follow

10 Feel Good Things About Life

This Is How You Lose Her

Either You Write or You “Write”

The Clock Winked

Fragile

The Most Difficult Aspects of Being 26

Emerald and Sapphire

Let’s Love Like Seventeen

Repeat Offender

3 thoughts on “20 Posts In 20 Days: Meeting Tyler Knott Gregson

Leave a Reply

