Starting Over

starting over

Let me start this off by wishing you all a very Happy New Year! Believe it or not, a lot has changed within the past five days since my last post of 2014. As the ball dropped at midnight, I didn’t feel that rush of positivity I usually feel on New Year’s Eve. Needless to say, I felt pretty indifferent about the turn of the new year…until I woke up the morning of January 1st with a brand new calendar staring me in the face and the weight of 2014 off of my shoulders.

After a long grueling year, I’m finally ready for a new chapter. I’m ready to let go of last year’s pain. I’m ready for new seasons and new beginnings. I’m excited for new opportunities and I’m pushing what others may want from me away from view so that I can focus on what makes me happy..and what keeps me sane! I want to improve all aspects of my life and I want to start now!

Speaking of new opportunities, today marks Day 1 of WordPress’ Blogging 101. This blog (and let’s be honest, my entire mind) needs a creativity makeover. Blogging 101 is designed to turn us writer bees into blogging queens within a span of four weeks, with some encouragement from staffers and bloggers on the side. When I started this blog a couple of years ago, I wasn’t sure where I wanted to take it. It’s gone through so many seasons with me that it’s still hard to pinpoint exactly what it is. In honor of the new year, I want to revamp this blog as best as I can and Blogging 101 feels like the right place to help me do that. It’s also a great resource for new bloggers, so if you’re looking to start writing, you might want to join in on the fun!

Last year, I lost sight of what was really important and focused on the wrong things – stats, followers, lack of job opportunities. I forgot what writing used to feel like for me and it ultimately led to me hating it (and the game) altogether. This year, I just want to be proud of myself again.

Allow me to start over by introducing myself.

I’m Tina. I’m 26 and I reside in Brooklyn, NY. I’m a writer by blood, and by that I mean that I was destined for this the moment I knew how to express myself with a pencil. I’m a hardcore music nerd/journalist for BUZZNET and A Thousand Guitars and I find most of my inspiration (and life revelations) through song lyrics.

With every new chapter, comes a new mission statement. Mine is that I want you to feel something, even the uncomfortable things. This blog is about experiencing life with a brave face, no matter how uncomfortable it may be. It’s a place where I can feel out all of the unfamiliar territory, live through all of the chaos and still find a way to come out of it a better person. I think the scariest part is allowing others to come for the ride.

Are you ready for a brand new adventure?


Like what you’ve just read? Join in on the conversation on Facebook. Your support is greatly appreciated!

 

2 thoughts on “Starting Over

  1. I’m glad this blog will remain active. Comtinue having courage to continue. I’m still rooting for you. I, myself, am ready for a new adventure. Another opportunity to grow and learn. 😀

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

