Advice for the Young

It’s just so freeing when you’re finally able to ignore everyone’s opinions on what direction your life should go in while saying, “I wasn’t brought into this world to please you or live your life.”

This is so important, especially when you are young. You were put on this Earth for a reason; your own purpose. Why waste precious time fulfilling what others want?

I know our loved ones mean well, and their suggestions are shared with love (though sometimes they don’t feel that way and they do more harm than good) but it is absolutely crucial you shake them off and continue on where your heart is leading you.

For some people, this whole notion may sound foreign. Some people don’t believe that there is a whole other world outside of their limited thinking. Just because you grew up in a negative family, doesn’t mean that’s your destiny. Rise above it. Believe it with every fiber of your being and prove it to be true.

What pisses me off the most is when people assume they know about your field, yet they offer up mediocre suggestions and ways to buck the system while insisting you spend time hobnobbing your way through so-called connections. I appreciate the effort. I do. But please. Allow me to continue on my path organically without selling my soul to the devil (which I spent most of 2014 doing, so I’d rather not go down that path again.)

Some may not believe this, but God gave us everything we’ve ever needed to succeed in this lifetime. If you don’t have it, you don’t need it. I’m finally reaching that place where I feel like I’m not lacking in any area…and for a person who has suffered through depression, anxiety and low self-esteem the majority of my life, this is a huge stepping stone for me. Please respect that and move along.

Something may work for you, but that doesn’t mean it’ll work for me and vice versa. Nobody has to understand your path but you. If people don’t understand it, (and here comes the freeing part) it’s not your problem!

Ignore everyone and do you. The rest comes naturally.

3 thoughts on “Advice for the Young

  1. “I know our loved ones mean well, and their suggestions are shared with love (though sometimes they don’t feel that way and they do more harm than good) but it is absolutely crucial you shake them off and continue on where your heart is leading you” this part makes me feel like, damn right. As an asian girl who lives in society and family who always try to give so many, opinions, suggestions and which one is good and best for me, sometimes I really feel stressed out and somehow depressed. I never meant to please them all the time but it’s like, this brain of mine consist of the thoughts like “you have to be good, you have to be good” then I think again why? what for? why should I? are they ashamed if I’m not as good as they want? to be honest, it’s very intimidating. I feel like a bird who they expect me to fly high but my wings are tighten to a chain. A bird who can see the world from the glass, can’t even really move to see the real world. I really sad, but I want to make a change.
    reading this is sort of like a wake up call for me.

    can’t even say anything, but thank you for writing 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

