New Chapters | The Daily Listening

11173369_10206594748931833_7655021150922967651_n

422 is a special number. Today is a special day.

Today marks the launch of my very own music site, The Daily Listening. I’ve always wanted something of my own like this. I’ve been writing for two other music sites and though I’m lucky enough to have creative freedom for both, this is my baby. 422 was my grandparents’ old address in Brooklyn. Whenever my family and I see 422 anywhere – whether it be license plates, buses, lottery numbers, etc – we know my grandparents are with us. So it was only natural that I chose today, April 22, as TDL’s official launch date.

The birth of this site came from a long, hard 2014 and quite frankly, being fed up with looking for a job where I can use my writing skills effectively while engaging with others in the process. If you’ll take the time to do a thorough search, you’ll find over a million music blogs out in the webosphere. Naturally, this would have startled me into oblivion. I would have said, “There’s enough noise. I’m not adding to it.” But after realizing my potential and looking over everything I have accomplished over the past 3 1/2 years, I decided to go for it.

The most popular music blogs out today were birthed from one music enthusiast who had a burning desire to write about what they wanted, when they wanted, how they wanted. The depressing task of applying for music journalism jobs was weighing heavy on them, and with zero feedback or shiny prospects to get excited about, there came a time to put matters into their own hands. Some wasted billions of dollars for a college degree that took them nowhere while some, sans degree, fought with the masses who were stupid enough to fall for a job in “journalism” where writing articles about Coachella fashion was more important than the bands that were actually playing. No disrespect to fashion bloggers, but we see right through you.

I am so excited to start this new journey. I never imagined I’d actually get to do this, and now that it is finally happening, it all seems a bit surreal. I’m excited to cultivate a new community of music enthusiasts who genuinely care about the music rather than the scene. I wanted to create a place where music journalism isn’t viewed as “the devil” by artists and where unnecessary harsh criticism is cast out of the equation.

Only God knows where this new chapter will take me, but from down here, it looks pretty promising.

Leave a Reply

