War

I put a picture of Jesus under my bed.
It says, “Jesus, I trust in You.”
I thought it would help the nightmares go away,
but they still linger.

Five years ago, I woke up from a dream.
My entire world was changed and He asked me to walk with Him.
He’s shown me the colors of His world; what glory feels like.
He told me to trust Him; to keep holding on, even as the rope thins.

Five years later, here I kneel; standing makes me feel weak.
I feel as if I spend the majority of my life on my knees; bruised and callous, they remind me of the new battles I face.
One after the other; the other worse than before.
It almost makes me wonder, “What am I trusting You for?”

I put a dream-catcher near my bed.
I have this theory that it keeps throwing the bad ones back at me.
But I wonder if it would have caught the first one,
would I be in this predicament today?

I put a picture of Jesus under my bed.
It says, “Jesus, I trust in You.”
He told me to get up and keep walking; that He equipped me to handle the storms.
I thought He was trying to wreck me; turns out, He was showing me how to trust.

Mastering this is an art; learning this is a fight.
When giving up feels ridiculous, I push on with all my might.
‘Cause if five years taught me anything, it is this.
I may always lose the battles, but I intend on winning the war.


“There’s too few ways to understand
So tell me please how one can sleep
When there’s too much to say.”

4 thoughts on “War

  1. “For in all these things we are more than conquerors through Him who first loved us”.

    We Christians do not triumph through our own strength but instead through finding our strength in the one who already HAS overcome sin and death and Satan, at the Cross and with His resurrection from the dead.

    The truth is, He has won the war, and we are to win the battles that remain by resting in His victory, so that it is Christ who fights in us and Christ who overcomes. The more we rest in Him, the more we will get to see Him win and put His enemies to route through us.

    May Jesus bless you and continue to teach you this as He already is. Know that you fight FROM victory, not FOR it.

    p.s. Dreamcatchers are at best superstition and at worst magic. If you were serious about having one and believe it has any kind of power, you should probably get rid of it and renounce it as it’s basically asking the enemy to live in your house and he WILL give you nightmares.

    Like

Leave a Reply

