5 Years

dream-memory

July 28, 2015 11:50PM – Five years ago tonight I went to sleep like any normal person. I awoke as someone new. Five weeks ago, everything came crashing down. For five years I lived under the illusion that I was meant for more; more than anything I could ever see with my own eyes. I hate being so blunt about this, being that it’s pretty much been a secret treasure I kept to myself for so long. But that’s the thing about shiny things: they’re too good to be true, blinding you into thinking you’re worthy or that you need it to survive. I hate how things turned out, but I’d give anything to wake up tomorrow and feel just a hint of the magic and transformation I felt on the morning of July 29, 2010. I don’t want to be an empty shell of who I once was, but for now, it’s all I’m able to feel.

Leave a Reply

