Darkness/Light

5622787-md

They say you can’t lose what you never had,

But I think that’s bullshit.

If you felt it in your heart,

You had it all.

 

Unfortunately, these things leave.

They serve their purpose and teach you things you never would have learned otherwise.

I thought I’d be mourning this,

But truth is I’m mourning my sanity.

 

God only knows how much longer I would have waited.

I still see them; the signs. The numbers.

They taunt me as I pass by,

Reminding me of all I’ve endured.

 

I’ve wasted so much time thinking about what I’d be missing,

When really you’re the one missing out.

 

Does she stay up late with you,

Sharing her favorite albums?

Learning about you through yours?

 

Would she hold you throughout the night?

Is she a comfort?

Would she brave the storm and feel something for a change?

Or would that require too much emotion?

 

I hope she does all of this and more.

I hope she smiles when you walk through the door.

 

I’m not sure if you’ve ever felt me when you looked up at night,

But for me you were my darkness and my light.

Leave a Reply

