Temporarily Unthankful

tumblr_mccud9YmW01rs0wnxo1_500

They asked me what I was thankful for

And for the first time in a while

I didn’t know how to answer

 

I’m not grateful for losing you

But I am grateful for the realizations

 

I’m not grateful for the lack of hands warming mine

Nor am I happy to have floated through this life in a dream world

 

I’m not grateful for the five-year illusion

Nor am I grateful for feeling like God left me on a slippery slope

 

I am grateful for what little talent I have

I am not grateful for the monsters that tell me I’m lacking

 

I’m not grateful for the time and heart put into this

Nor the empty, cold nights without a shoulder to cry on

 

So I guess this year

You’ll have to forgive me

For I am not so thankful for what life has dealt me with

 

I’ve put up with enough

And it never seems to end

And if you don’t understand

Well then, I refuse to bend

 

I’ll fake a smile in public

Shed those tears in private

Just like I’ve always done

 

Just like I always will


“Things don’t have to be this way. Catch me on a better day.”

Leave a Reply

