The Gift of Absence

tumblr_mcb2a9ygTq1r3epayo1_500

This is the first year in a while that I haven’t wished for you at Christmas

“Maybe this year,” I’d say

“Maybe this will be our time”

What a fool I’ve been

Chasing an illusion while you chased fakery

 

But I’d be lying if I didn’t say

There wasn’t a tiny part of me

That wishes for the person I thought you were

Maybe deep down, that’s who you really are

But LA maimed you, turned you into who you never thought you’d be

 

I never thought there would come a time when I didn’t want you

I never thought there would come a time when I would think of you as I think of the rest

I never thought the day would come when you weren’t the first and last thing on my mind

 

But here we are

On a day like today

And you’re a stranger now

Just like you’ve always been

 

But though you’re a stranger

Your face is ingrained in my brain

Blue eyes, light brown hair

Blue jeans, white shirt

Deep, sweet voice

Hands that fit me like a glove

 

Playing with my hair

Letting me speak my fears

Just like that dream

Always in a dream

 

Maybe the absence of you was a gift all along


“These days I’m haunted by each day that passes by”

2 thoughts on “The Gift of Absence

Leave a Reply

