Hands Over Eyes

girl-covering-eyes-ffound-1

I feel like I’ve spent the majority of the past five years with hands over eyes, afraid of what I might see that could possibly ruin me.

But no amount of hiding could stop the inevitable from happening or from appearing out of nowhere when my guard was getting tired.

There’s a song by Wave & Rome called, “Hands Over Eyes.” It was calling out to me the moment I heard the chorus. Those things I tried to shield myself from, claiming that ignorance was bliss, were only a few weeks away from ripping me wide open as the storm raged on outside my window – a perfect metaphor of what was going on inside my head. Though the lyrics aren’t, “Your sorrow’s in the photo,” as I once thought, all of my sorrows lied as plain as day in a photo I never wanted to see with an announcement I never wanted to hear.

Dreams become reality that turn into nightmares; the only trouble is, you can’t turn them off while awake.

The habit of shielding myself hasn’t evaded me, yet there’s still a part of me peeking out from the side, hoping what I’ve seen is only temporary and he won’t go through with it.

I still feel like there’s so much to hide from as every fear I’ve ever had has beat me to death.

I can’t handle any more blows.

“With your lantern in the dark, face the trembling in your heart.”


“You don’t have to hide, hands over eyes.”

5 thoughts on “Hands Over Eyes

  1. Though the lyrics aren’t, “ Your sorrow’s in the photo, ” as I once thought, all of my sorrows lied as plain as day in a photo I never wanted to see with an announcement I never wanted to hear. Where is this information?

    Like

Leave a Reply

