Girl On Fire

tumblr_m3pwvu238X1r08qs8o1_500

It might not be very big of me

But she’s not even that pretty

She reeks of extravagance

And it’s leaking out onto you

 

I can’t offer you fancy trips

Nor do I have the trust fund to pay for an LA-saturated life

But God damn did I love you to the ends of the earth

And there was no telling what I wouldn’t have done just to catch you smile

 

And if that’s not enough,

Then darling I’m afraid your heart is damaged beyond repair

And now all I’m left with is despair

With all we could have been dancing in the back of my mind

 

I’ve done all I can do

But I still don’t want to be without you

And I’m tired of walking through fire

For those who wouldn’t lift a finger for me

 

So this time

When I set myself alight

I hope it catches your eye

Just as I disappear from sight

 

If only the girl on fire knew you weren’t her knight


“And my hopes, they are high, I must keep them small
Though I try to resist I still want it all

I see swimming pools and living rooms and aeroplanes
I see a little house on a hill and children’s names
But everything is shattering and it’s my mistake

Only fools fall for you, only fools do what I do.”

One thought on “Girl On Fire

Leave a Reply

